Home

20160331_151244

Although I would usually avoid writing about chain bookshops, instead favouring writing about independent booksellers in order to support them, sometimes a shop comes along that prompts a short article.Barnes and Noble on 17th Street in New York is one such shop.

20160331_151344

20160331_151531

20160331_151900

This Barnes and Noble spreads across 4 floors with an enormous amount of books. Including a clever and quirky table of ‘blind date’ books, wrapped in brown paper and given a short description so that readers don’t ‘judge a book by its cover’.

The best part of the shop in my opinion though isn’t the choice of books or the blind date books, but the children’s section. Sweetly designed featuring many of your childhood literary friends. The main and also my favourite attraction in the children’s section was the ‘100 Acre Wood’ with all the characters from the much-loved and classic Winne the Pooh by A.A. Milne, complete with a bench to sit on and read.

20160331_152342

20160331_152423

20160331_152403

It was whilst I was regressing to my childhood happiness and taking in the decoration that I found What Pet Should I Get? by Dr Suess. Having struggled to get this title in the UK I decided that since I was in America I would purchase it, to add to our collection of Dr Seuss from my childhood.

20160331_151905

Paying at the till I was treated to the last little surprise the shop had to offer, along with the receipt was a slip from the till of similar titles I might like based on my purchase. For anyone looking for more books to add to their “to read list”, I think this is a lovely idea.

Address: 33 E 17th St, New York, NY 10003

One thought on “Barnes and Noble- New York

Leave a Reply

