Home

This week’s Post-apocalyptic Reads are chosen by author Heidi Perks whose début novel ‘Beneath the surface’ (Amazon UK/ Amazon US) is out now.

Heidi Perks’ Fallout 5:

The Light Between Oceans by M L Steadman: This is a beautiful, heart-wrenching book. I read it about two years ago and it stayed with me for a very long time. I felt it a big hole once I’d finished reading it. I’ve never read a book more than once but I would read this one again. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

the light between oceans


The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt: This book has been sitting on my ever growing pile of TBRs for a very long time and I just haven’t gotten round to it. The trouble is once new ones come along from Mr postman they tend to get read next and so the poor Goldfinch has been shunted lower and lower down the pile. I would definitely need to read something new down in the bunker so this would be it. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

goldfinch


Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier: One of my faves. I should probably take with me something else by Daphne Du Maurier, maybe Jamaica Inn, I haven’t read that, but Rebecca is a very good book and I’d happily read it again! (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

rebecca


Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty: Liane Moriarty is one of my favourite authors and this is the only book of hers I haven’t read yet. This is one I want to read anyway so it would definitely be on my list. I love the way she brings humour into her books, whilst creating great mysteries full of such fantastic characters. No doubt this will be a good read and perfect company when I’m underground. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

three wishes


The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles by Julie Edwards: Okay, so I read this as a nine-year-old but adored it. I haven’t read it since but am looking forward to reading it with my own children! I thought that maybe down in the bunker would be a good time to see if it’s as great as I remember it being! (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles by Julie Edwards


You Suddenly have to run from the bunker, you can only save one book, which do you rescue?

I’d take with me The Goldfinch – purely because I haven’t read it yet and it’s a hefty book and I’d probably have a fair bit of time on my hands!
For more from the author why not visit her website?
Leave a Reply

