Home

Andria Williams is an author and writer who’s debut novel The Longest Night is out now (Amazon UK/ Amazon US). She also runs the Military Spouse Book Review blog, which promotes the writing of female veterans and military spouses as well as publishing book reviews.

Andria Williams’ Fallout 5:

Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood: This is a novel I could read again and again (and I have), finding something new each time. I chuckle at Grace Marks’s seditious thoughts, and Atwood can play off a Victorian absurdity (she was herself a Victorian scholar) like no one else. A fascinating, character-driven mystery, ‘Alias Grace’ tells the story of a young Irish servant who is accused of killing her employer and his pregnant mistress. Grace was alternately portrayed as a victim of circumstance and as a cunning femme fatale. Chapters alternate between Grace’s perspective and that of the young doctor employed by a local reform group to try and ensure her pardon. It’s historical fiction at its best. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
alias grace

The Son by Philipp Meyer: If you’re going to be limited to five books, then I say go big. There’s no weight limit, right?! I’d most definitely bring ‘The Son,’ which, being told by three characters, can almost count for three books. It’s the story of a Texas dynasty dating back to the 19th century, and there’s so much excitement, social commentary, humor, and sorrow in its pages that I could read it fifty times without tiring. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
 the son

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley: On fall nights, I’d want something creepy and a little scary. I’d also want something that eased, or at least validated, the immense loneliness I’d probably feel being stuck in a bunker with only five books, and there’s no story that describes loneliness better than this one. Shelley’s writing is so psychological and deep, I could at least pretend I was analyzing the minds of fellow humans while I read. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
 Frankeinstien

Blindness by Jose Saramogo: To ease my feelings of claustrophobia and also because it’s one of the most simultaneously brutal and hopeful books about human nature that I know. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
blindness


To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf: Because its beauty is unsurpassed, and I would want something sad and beautiful. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
to the lighthouse

You Suddenly have to run from the bunker, you can only save one book, which do you rescue?
Definitely the Margaret Atwood one!
For more from Andria Williams why not visit her website?
Leave a Reply

