Home

Estthis raging lightelle Laure is the author of YA novel, This Raging Light (Amazon UK/ Amazon US), her début novel which was released early this year.  Her second novel These Mighty Forces is due to be released next year.

 

 

 

 

Estelle Laure’s Fallout 5:

1.The Neverending Story by Michael Ende: Because it reminds me so much of my childhood and the pure wonder of reading. It is one of my biggest bonds to my brother as well. I mean, is he in the bunker, because if not the book would do as a proxy…kind of. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

The Neverending story

2. East of Eden by John Steinbeck: Okay so it’s a big book with some really awful female characters in it, but it’s also this expansive, generational examination of the human condition, of how one generation affects the next and the one before, about the relationship between men and brothers, and it’s so evocative. If I were in a bunker I would want to imagine the Salinas Valley in all the seasons, and I know if I spent enough time with this book I could learn even more than I did the first time around. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

east of eden

3. Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison: Because it’s so beautiful and tragic and romantic. It makes me weep and my favorite character in any book ever, Pilate, is in it. I think I could never get sick of it. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

song of solomon

4. Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk: It’s hilarious and also kind of violently cathartic. It’s like a really long, insane poem/rant. It was made for my generation. I would read it right after Song of Solomon, for balance. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

fight club

5. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson: It’s hopeful and forgiving and mesmerizing and gorgeous. Jandy Nelson is what I’d call a writer unleashed. She’s free and imaginative. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

i'll give you the sun

You Suddenly have to run from the bunker, you can only save one book, which do you rescue?

I’ll Give You the Sun, would be the one I would drag along with me if I could only take one. I could remember why I write in the first place and what is important about writing books for teens.

Leave a Reply

