Home

Sophie Van Der Stap is a Dutch author currently living in Paris. Since recovering from Cancer she has written both journalism and fiction. Her book The Girl with Nine Wigs is a memoir about her battle through cancer. Each wig has a different name and a different part of Sophie, and the story tells how the wigs got her through it all. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

The Girl With Nine Wigs_COVER.indd

Sophie’s Fallout 5:

1. Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde: Because it describes all the facets of the theatre and tragedy of being a human being in the surroundings of a modern city society. Thanks to Wilde’s wit / sense of humour his many smart observations and insights actually stay with me. I can read this book over and over again. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

dorian Gray

2. Fountainhead by Ayn Rand: I love her writing, the way she describes people, her views. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

fountainhead

3. La vie devant soi (The Life Before Us) by Romain Gary: I love the work by Romain Gary. He’s one of my favourite writers. His characters or so human, so real, so touching and loveable. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

life before us

4. L’elegance du Hérisson (The Elegance of the Hedgehog) by Muriel Barbery: It’s such a sweet story, and again drenched in humour and intelligent observations. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

elegance of the hedgehog

5. The brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky: Because its still on my list to read and it was recommended to me by several people who’s opinion I fully trust. Out of 5 books to bring I’d be happy to bring 1 book that I haven’t read yet. Preferably Russian literature – The slow and melancholic character of the Russian novels I have read permits you to lose track of time, and to shed one or two tears. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

the K brothers

You Suddenly have to run from the bunker, you can only save one book, which do you rescue?

The book that I would save? Because of the bunker, I guess I would save the one that makes me laugh the most: Oscar Wilde.

To take part in Post-apocalyptic reads, or for more on the idea see the Basics Rules page.

Leave a Reply

