Home

This weeks Fallout 5 are chosen by author Tony Park who writes both Fiction and Non-fiction books most of which are set in or are about Africa. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

Tony Park’s Fallout 5:

1. Hold My Hand I’m Dying by John Gordon-Davis:   I love this book and I think it’s the best novel about Africa that I’ve read.  It’s racy, full of action and has a wonderful love story at its core.  The late John Gordon-Davis captured his part of Africa perfectly at the time he was writing.  This is one of the few books I’ve read more than once. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
hold my hand i'm dying
2. Neither Here Nor There by Bill Bryson:  I’m going to need a laugh every now and then in the bunker.  I love all of Bill Bryson’s books and this one left me in fits of laughter in public places when I read it many years ago. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
neither here nor there
3. On Writing, A Memoir of The Craft by Stephen King:  I will be doing some writing while waiting out the Apocalypse, even if it’s making up stories in my head.  King’s book, part autobiography and part tips for novelists is, in my opinion, the best book ever written about how to write fiction.  I re-read it every year before I start working on a new novel. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
on writing stephen king
4. Centennial by James A. Michener:  This was the first ‘grown up’ book my mum ever gave me to read.  I remember it took me ages to finish (it’s enormous) but I loved every minute of it.  I use animals a characters in some of my African thrillers and I’m pretty sure I got this idea from Michener, who tells the story of a dinosaur in Centennial.  I’m a slow reader, so it will take me a long time to finnish this one again. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
centennial
5. Lie Down With Lions by Ken Follett:  Set in Afghanistan in the 1980s this was Follett at his raunchiest. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
lie down with lions
You Suddenly have to run from the bunker, you can only save one book, which do you rescue?
If I had to run from the bunker I’d take ‘On Writing’ by Stephen King.  His story is one of triumphing against the odds, and whatever happens in the post Apocalyptic world I’d still be working on a new book. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
For more from Tony Park why not visit his website?
To take part in Post-apocalyptic reads, or for more on the idea see the Basic Rules page.
Leave a Reply

