costa books awards

The shortlist for this year’s Costa Book Awards is in, and here it it…

Novel Award:

God in Ruins- Kate Atkinson

The Green Road- Anne Enright 

A Place Called Winter- Patrick Gale

At Hawthorn Time- Melissa Harrison

First Novel Award: 

Spill Simmer Falter Wither- Sara Baume

The Girl in the Red Coat- Kate Hamer

The Loney- Andrew Michael Hurley

Things We Have in Common- Tasha Kavanagh


Biography Award:

The Story of Alice: Lewis Carroll and the Secret History of Wonderland- Robert Douglas-Fairhurst

The House by the Lake- Thomas Harding

John Aubrey: My Own Life- Ruth Scurr

The Invention of Nature: The Adventures of Alexander Von Humboldt, The Lost Hero of Science- Andrea Wulf


Poetry Award:

Physical- Andrew McMillan

The Observances- Kate Miller

40 Sonnets- Don Paterson

Talking Dead- Neil Rollinson

Children’s Book Award: 

The Lie Tree- Frances Hardinge

Sophie Someone- Hayley Long

An Island of Our Own- Sally Nicholls

Jessica’s Ghost- Andrew Norriss

The category winners will be announced on January 4th 2016 whilst the Costa book of the year will announced on the 26th January 2016.

To view the full list with more details about the books and authors, why not visit the Costa Book Awards website.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.