Home

This week’s Fallout 5 are chosen by author Jane Thynne who has written several novels mostly in the historical fiction genre (Amazon UK/ Amazon US). As well as writing novels, Thynne is a freelance journalist and writes for several magazines and newspapers. She also appears as a broadcaster on BBC radio 4.

Jane Thynne’s Fallout 5:

1.  The Oxford Book of English Verse: when I was younger I was very keen on learning poems by heart and this was my go-to compendium. I keep resolving to memorise more poetry and of course I never do. This apocalypse will definitely have a silver lining. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

oxford english verse

2. Jeeves and the Impending Doom by P.G. Wodehouse: Essential reading for those in a doom-laden scenario. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

jeeves and the impending doom

3. Middlemarch by George Eliot: My all time favourite novel, of which I could never tire. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

middlemarch

4. My Side of the Mountain by Jean George: A cult children’s book about a boy who runs away to the Catskill mountains and lives on the land. It is a beautiful account of surviving in the wild; making fires, cooking acorn pancakes and catching fish. It would obviously be very handy in a disaster environment. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

my side of the mountain

5. The Chronicles of Barsetshire by Anthony Trollope: on the principle that everyone tells me I simply must read these but it would take a nuclear apocalypse to get round to it. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

the chronicles of barsetshire

You Suddenly have to run from the bunker, you can only save one book, which do you rescue?

If I was running away from the bunker, I’d grab the poetry. It’s a weighty volume, but essential for the soul and might also come in useful as a weapon.

For more from Jane Thynne why not visit her website or join her on Twitter.

To take part in Post-apocalyptic reads, or for more on the idea see the Basics Rules page.

Leave a Reply

