Home

The weeks Fallout 5 is chosen by Catherine Chanter, author of psychological thriller; The Well (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

the well

 

 

 

 

 

Catherine Chanter’s Fallout 5:

1.  Living on Exmoor by Hope Bourne: I spent a lot of my childhood on Exmoor and this beautifully written book describes everything I hold dear about that part of England.  Hope Bourne was an extraordinary woman who lived her whole life on the moor and knew it intimately.  Her account not only brings back great memories which I could indulge in, stuck away in the bunker, but it also depicts everything that is miraculous about our countryside which I would dare to hope might still be there when I stick my head out. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
Living on Exmoor

2. The Rattle Bag ed. Seamus Heaney and Ted Hughes:This is the best anthology of poetry, not surprising when you see who selected the poems.  It contains most of my favourites, but every time I pick it up, I discover something new.  Poetry is essential to my wellbeing; without it, I suspect I’d become very bad company for my fellow survivors. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
Rattle bag

3.  A La Recherche du Temps Perdu by Marcel Proust: Cliched I know, but I am assuming that I’m going to be locked away with my books for some time and I would have no excuse for giving up in the first three hundred pages. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
in search

4.  I am David by Anne Holm: This was one of my favourite childhood books and I re-read recently.  It is deceptively simple.  I think returning to a much loved story in a time of great stress is one of the most comforting experiences; we see it in children who ask for, or read the same book  over and over again.  Besides this, the novel is quietly inspirational.  There have been people in the world who have survived their own ‘apocalypse’, David is one them, therefore it would give me hope. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
i am david

5. An Atlas: This is not to plan my escape to some unaffected part of the world.  Rather it would help me travel in my mind.  I have wandered around the globe a bit in my time and an atlas would help me revisit those places and maybe write about them, if I am allowed a pencil and paper.  Also, there’s nothing like an Atlas for helping you dream. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)
 world atlas

You Suddenly have to run from the bunker, you can only save one book, which do you rescue?

Which one of the five would I save?  So hard!  I am going to choose The Rattle Bag.  Poetry is a bit like music; you can listen to it again and again and again and always come away with something new.

For more from Catherine Chanter why not follow her on Twitter or visit her Website.

One thought on “Post-apocalyptic Reads- Catherine Chanter’s Fallout 5

  1. Pingback: The Well by Catherine Chanter | Books Bird

Leave a Reply

