Home
Image created by HogtheComputer

Image created by HogtheComputer

This week’s Post-apocalyptic Reads is contributed by Jen Campbell, author of several books including a Sunday Times Best selling series called ‘Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops’ and another book called ‘The Bookshop Book’, all great books to read if you’re a bookworm. Jen is also an award-winning poet and short story writer. She lives in London where she works at an antiquarian bookshop, whilst writing. She also runs a Booktube channel at youtube.com/jenvcampbell

weird thing customers say

Jen Campbell’s Fallout 5:

1. His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman: This is actually three books but I’ll cheat a little by saying I’ll take the bind up Everyman edition – with it’s very gorgeous cover. His Dark Materials is my favourite series of books, I think it may just beat Harry Potter (I know… I know…). The worlds that he creates, and the idea of a daemon (a soul personified that exists outside of your body in the form of an animal) is just wonderful. It also plays with the multiverse theory, which I always enjoy. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

his dark materials

2. Alice Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll: Quite possibly my favourite book ever. The word play gets me every time. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

Alice through the looking glass

3. The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer: Because it’s the end of the world and we all need each other to survive –  art, community and compassion, yes please. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

the art of asking

4. The Girl With All the Gifts by MR Carey: In case the apocalypse turns into the zombie apocalypse and this can be my survival guide.  (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

girl with all the gifts

5. The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber: To comfort myself that perhaps, I can flee to another planet like Peter did. It was my favourite book of last year; it’s an amazing read. All about colonisation, the problems of religion and, space travel.  (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

the book of strange things

You Suddenly have to run from the bunker, you can only save one book, which do you rescue?

If I had to save one? Probably Alice Through the Looking Glass. I’m sure I’d meet lots of strange people along the way, like her, and I’d like to practice the art of nonsense to keep me sane

For the rules and how to take part yourself see the original Post-apocalyptic Reads post. 

Leave a Reply

