Home
Catherine Post Apocalyptic Reads

Image created by HogtheComputer

This weeks Post-apocalyptic Reads is with Liz Trenow former BBC journalist and now novelist. Liz is the author of several books including; The Poppy Factory (Amazon UK/ Amazon US), The Last Telegram (Amazon UK/ Amazon US) and The Forgotten Seamstress (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

liz books

Liz Trenow’s Fallout 5:

1. Decent Dictionary & Thesaurus: In the desolation of a post-apocalyptic world I would need to console and occupy myself by continuing to write, and since nothing would be available online, a combined dictionary and thesaurus would be essential.  (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

dictionary

2. The Earth from the Air by Yann Arthus-Bertrand:  One Christmas I received this beautiful book of photographs published by Thames and Hudson. The aerial photographs give a remarkable account of the earth and its people, its beauty and the ecological dangers it faces. Each page would be a tragic reminder of the world we have lost.  (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

earth

3. Great Expections (or David Copperfield) by Charles Dickens:  Although reading Charles Dickens sometimes feels dated and a bit like ‘hard work’, there is no greater master of character, plot and evocation of place. If I am struggling with my own writing, I turn to Dickens for instruction!  (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

great expectations

4. The Sea by John Banville: No contemporary writer produces more beautiful, elegiac and apparently effortless prose than John Banville, in my humble opinion! He is a constant inspiration.  (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

sea

5. Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel:  From the very start of the book I was gripped, and full of regret when I reached the end. She portrays the Tudor world so powerfully you can almost smell the rain-drenched wool and the stench of treachery. She’s a wonderful role model for any historical novelist.  (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

wolf hall

You Suddenly have to run from the bunker, you can only save one book, which do you rescue?

Ok, had a long think about this one. My heart says Hilary Mantel but in a really practical sense, if I only had one novel to read over and over again, I think I might come to hate it, and I never want to hate her! So the practical answer is that I’d like to keep the Oxford English Dictionary and Thesaurus because you can never get bored with words and their etymology.

For more on Liz Trenow:

Visit her website or Twitter @LizTrenow

For the rules and how to take part yourself see the original Post-apocalyptic Reads post. 

Leave a Reply

