Home
Image created by HogtheComputer

Image created by HogtheComputer

 

This weeks Post-apocalyptic reads is given to us by author, Sue Welfare. Previously Sue has written several romantic comedy books including; The Surprise Party (Amazon UK/ Amazon US) and Off the Record (Amazon UK/ Amazon US). However Sue Welfare has recently changed genres and has written a new thriller novel; called Next of Kin (Amazon UK/ Amazon US) which is published today.

next of kin

Sue Welfare’s Fallout 5:

1. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier: I read this first as a teenager and then a few Christmas’s ago re-read it when the weather was horrible. We’d lit a log fire and I was snuggled up on the sofa with my lovely man and our dogs – it was just the perfect Christmas, and the perfect Christmas read, and I loved it. I’ve re-read every Christmas since. It’s like an old friend and it would immediately take me back to those special moments.
(Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

2. The Stand by Stephen King: A post apocalyptic novel and – I think – one of his best and often over-looked titles. It is one I’ve read two or three times as an adult and I always find something new in it; some new twist or some new theme that I’ve missed before. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

3. The Lion, the Witch and The Wardrobe by CS Lewis: I read the whole series as a child and loved them, but have never been back to read them again. Revisiting them would remind me of the tiny local library we had in our town, discovering reading, and the joys of curling up on a dark night totally absorbed in another world (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

4. Outdoor Survival Handbook: A Guide To The Resources And Materials Available In The Wild And How To Use Them For Food, Shelter, Warmth And Navigation by Ray Mears: I remember seeing him interviewed where he said that if you do it right you don’t just survive in the wild but thrive – which is the kind of inspiration I think would really help when the going got tough. So, come the apocalypse I’ll be breaking into my nearest library and liberating a copy! (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

5. Food For Free by Richard Mabey: For several reasons; first it’s a book I’ve been meaning to buy for years, but mostly because I love to eat, so finding food that wasn’t just sustaining but tasty and nutritious seems like a good idea. (Amazon UK/ Amazon US)

You Suddenly have to run from the bunker, you can only save one book, which do you rescue?

It would have to be Ray Mears, so that I could stay alive long enough to find lots of other creative people, and start writing and story telling all over again!

For more on Sue Welfare:

Visit her goodread’s author page or Twitter: @suewelfare

For the rules and how to take part yourself see the original Post-apocalyptic Reads post. 

One thought on “Post-apocalyptic Reads- Sue Welfare’s Fallout 5

Leave a Reply

