Home

summer reading challenge

So I’ve finished my first year at university and I’m at home until September which can only mean one thing, more time to read! Although I haven’t been set or set myself a reading challenge since I was a child, I decided that this summer I would write a list of books I want to read before I return to uni for my second year.

Tender is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald- Having read The Great Gatsby and loved it, I recently bought another of his 1920’s American literature. (Amazon UK/ Amazon Kindle UK)

Tender is the night

Trail of Broken Wings by Sejal Badani- A Kindle first and recommendation from a family member who I trust greatly when it comes to books. (Amazon UK/ Amazon Kindle UK)

A trail of broken wings

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess- A much talked about Modern Classic, A clockwork Orange is a book I’ve wanted to try for a while. (Amazon UK/ Amazon Kindle UK)

A clockwork orange

Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier- Having enjoyed the TV adaptation and with the knowledge that the book is always better than the film or TV, this book is another that has been on my ‘to read’ list for some time. (Amazon UK/ Amazon Kindle UK)

jamaica inn

Lady Chatterly’s Lover by D. H. Lawrence- A classic that was once banned from many households, but not this one! (Amazon UK/ Amazon Kindle UK)

lady chatterly's lover

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne- Apparently a difficult and complex read, that I would like to stretch myself by reading. Also an interesting and historic topic to read about. (Amazon UK/ Amazon Kindle UK)

The Scarlet letter

The Photographer’s Wife by Nick Alexander- Another recommendation from a much trusted family member. (Amazon UK/ Amazon Kindle UK)

The photographers wife

The Color Purple by Alice Walker- A book which tackles race and discrimination in the 1930s. Reading The Help, triggered me to want to read this novel. (Amazon UK/ Amazon Kindle UK)

the color purple

Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy- With a film adaptation on it’s way to our big screens, I would like to read this novel before watching the film. (Amazon UK/ Amazon Kindle UK)

far from the madding crowd

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë- Although I’ve read this book before, I read it when I was quite young and therefore struggled with some of the words. I am consequently re-reading this beautiful novel to re-live it and get more from it than the first time. (Amazon UK/ Amazon Kindle UK)

wuthering heights

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee- The Much anticipated new novel from Harper Lee. I think that’s all I need to say to explain this one. (Amazon UK/ Amazon Kindle UK)

go set a watchman

One thought on “Summer Reading Challenge 2015

Leave a Reply

