Home

lynda

1. When did you first decide you wanted to become a writer?

I’ve wanted to be a writer for as long as I can remember. As a child I made up stories and I haven’t stopped. I was seven when my first poem was published. I have always been fascinated with writers and the written word. I wrote my own version of ‘Peyton Place’ when I was thirteen and called it ‘The Happenings in Beechwood.’ Creating characters and stories is something I love.

2. What first inspired you to become an Author?

Many authors have inspired me. Nell Dunn and Iris Murdoch in particular. But the person who most inspired me was a teacher who repeatedly told me I should write as I had a unique style.

3. Which of your books are you most proud of and why?

I think it has to be ‘The Dog’s Bollocks’ It was my first attempt at writing a romantic comedy farce and I loved the main character Harriet. I’m extremely proud of that book. I’m also very proud of ‘Pink Wellies and Flat Caps.’ I wrote that while half my house was demolished and a new extension was built. It was a very stressful time. I was thrilled when ‘Pink Wellies and Flat Caps’ went to number one. It still is my bestselling novel.

4. Do you have any tips for aspiring writers on how to get their work published?

It’s important to get your work edited before putting it out there. That would always be my first tip. You really can’t edit enough. The important thing is to never give up no matter how disappointed you get. Have a dream and live it. Rejection doesn’t mean you’re no good. It’s about finding the right publisher. But of course self-publishing is so easy now and as long as you’ve edited well then there are lots of opportunities out there.

 

Leave a Reply

